The end of an Era (well, Sort of…)

The end has finally arrived. I am both relieved and saddened by this. It has been an incredible journey for me. One that I am proud to show you.

 

5EBE8746-62B1-43B3-94A8-71E28DD19E73
Day 25; Ship. The SS Georgie.

Day 25. Ship. What better ship to draw for Halloween than the SS Georgie. The sole reason for Georgie’s encounter with Penny the Dancing Clown. Personally, I don’t think this is my best drawing; I could’ve done better. However, Shoulda, Coulda, Woulda. It worked out beautifully bizarre all the same…

 

1F75E4DB-6715-43D2-8BA9-7F3C2872E99E
Day 26; Squeak, Squeak.

Day 26. Squeak. As you can probably see. I was inspired by Marvel’s Guardians of the Galaxy. Rocket, a hard-ass, sarcastic science experiment racoon was my reference for squeak.

 

FB2FFBDE-47D7-4732-B755-B69421F2BF9D
Day 27; Climb, Conquering your mind.

Day 27. Climb. I pretty much finished most of my black bottled ink because of this one. There’s a beauty in this picture that I love. An empty scream almost.

 

5799EA41-4F01-47A4-99C4-2DDE9F8C9B6D
Day 28; Fall, The Reichenbach Fall.

Day 28. Fall. Okay, so I managed to squeeze a bit more ink out of the bottle. I thought of falling leaves. But, then I remembered Sherlock Holmes, played by the spectacular Benedict Cumberbatch in the BBC series called, Sherlock. I remembered the Reichenbach Fall. Sherlock’s fall. Such an iconic scene in TV history for me and in Sherlock’s adventures. It was a tear-jerker, that’s for sure. I wanted to depict his decision to fall as well as the fall itself, which, to my great delight, I managed to do.

 

BB27501C-1CD8-4165-ADB5-F01570C988D8
Day 29; United, United in Valhalla.

Day 29. United. This one was extremely important to me. I had this idea a while ago when I saw the word, united. SPOILER ALERT: DO NOT CARRY ON READING IF YOU DON’T WANT THE SERIES VIKINGS TO BE RUINED. Okay, so if you don’t want to read this spoiler just skip straight to the next drawing.

In the series, Vikings, which I have mentioned a lot, I cried myself silly when Floki’s wife died. They were an incredible pair. The writing in the picture shows Floki’s last words to his beautiful Helga as he put her in her grave. A Viking’s heaven, known as Valhalla is where he said he hoped to see her again. This character, played by Gustaf Skarsgård, made my heart break terribly. So, this is a tribute to the beautiful Helga and heartbreaking boat-maker, Floki…

 

4DDF34F8-536F-40ED-AD9D-403488136F71
Day 30; Found, Will Byers.

Day 30. Found. How could I resist getting Stranger Things in here. Season 2 just came out as well, and me and my brother almost binge-watched the whole thing in one night. Almost. Will, probably one of my favorite characters, is depicted as found in here, considering he was lost for the entirety of season 1. The actor, Noah Schnapp, is incredible. Things are certainly getting stranger…

 

E753CB4E-2FD4-4DC9-9D10-FBFBAD307189
Day 31; Mask, We all have one.

Day 31. Mask. Finally, this one took a long time to think of, but I thought what better mask to draw than the mask even I wear almost everyday. Makeup. It is a mask. Not one I’m against, but it’s still a mask to hide ourselves. Our blemishes, our true beauties.

It has been a crazy, but wonderful Inktober. Thank you all for watching me grow in my art and reading about it. I look forward to next year’s word-prompts and beautifully bizarre ideas that will come from my head. Until next time, peoples. Goodnight.

2 thoughts on “The end of an Era (well, Sort of…)

Leave a comment