40 years of the Force…

star-wars

So, I haven’t posted anything in 13 days, which has largely to do with how insanely hectic Christmas was (or how lazy I am during December holidays), however, some interesting happenings have taken place.

I thought it only fair to dedicate my 40th blog post to something that has been a part of my childhood for the 18 years that I have lived and breathed. Never mind the uncanny coincidence of the first ever Star Wars to be released is 40 years old itself.

Yes, Star Wars…

From the originals to the prequels and finally sequels, the stories have never ceased to amaze me. Pretty much everyone knows Star Wars (or even Darth Vadar) whether the movies have been seen or not. If you haven’t, your life is incomplete. This series of movies have influenced everything from the sci-fi genre to the way toys are made. I could go on, but I want to hone in on the most recent additive to the Star Wars franchise.

Episode 8: The Last Jedi

On the 15th of December, I went to see Star Wars in the cinemas, popcorn in one hand and a soda in the other (oh, and a slab of chocolate in my handbag). The adverts played, all of which failed in comparison to even the opening scene of the movie. The introduction rolled across the screen as they do in every Star Wars film for the last forty years.

starwarslongtime-h_2016

The name flashed in the traditional font and the Star Wars opening crawl of words began.

After the movie ended, I was ecstatic. The colours and cinematography were breathtaking and so were the new characters added to the cast. It was hard watching Carrie Fisher in the movie knowing the actress died on 27th of December a year prior. She was a true gem in the industry, and her performance outshone everyone else.

A day or two passed and I saw the review for Star Wars on Rotten Tomatoes‘ Instagram page. Behold my horror: E5837703-4341-49D7-88BF-544D5B25096C

Don’t get me wrong. The critics got the score right. The fans, however, not so much. I don’t believe the film was that bad to have to start a petition to get the movie remade. Yeah, a Petition! That was too far. Die-hard fans, to my knowledge, hate the prequels and adore the original trilogy and also seem to take issue with this current film. The Last Jedi was, in fact, about moving forward into the next generation and not looking to or holding onto the past. Which is what die-hard fans love to do. The past is gone, the Jedi are gone, and so is the Sith. There is no more Jedi temple. No dark lord or rebellion. There is only the FORCE, people!

That is the message of this movie. The only thing that stands the test of time is the Force. It is the only constant.

Now, as you can probably tell from this post, I was super pissed by that petition. Though, after clearing my head a little, I do feel that characters like Kylo Ren and Rey fell short of what they were in the previous film: The Force Awakens

 

51BF85D5-2E8F-45B0-ABD4-C5DBC473C785
Ballpoint pen sketch done by Me! Super proud of this one. Kylo Ren, played by the amazing Adam Driver (left), and Rey, played by Daisy Ridley (right)

 

Because the two were created by JJ Abrams (the director of The Force Awakens), he probably understood the characters a lot better than director, Rian Johnson who made The Last Jedi. Therefore, they weren’t as true to themselves as they had been in the previous film. Also, the previous film was taken to such high regard by a lot of people that it seemed near to impossible to create as impactful a sequel. With that said, I still love the film. Warts and all.

So, with that little rant spewed out, I bid you adieu and May the Force be with you

giphy.gif

 

Social Media

Twitter: @phoebereverie

Facebook Page: @phoebereverie

Instagram: @Phoebe_ree

Leave a comment